What kind of advice would you give to all the literary kids?

I’d just say, you know, to write every day and to leave the other part to somebody else. I’ve been surprised by the number of people who have given me their writing on this trip. You know, and they want me to respond to them and I would never do that. I wouldn’t do it when I was twenty, I wouldn’t do it when I was thirty, and I wouldn’t do it now. I was always told that you just work as hard as you can every day and when the timing is right someone will ask you, ‘Can I read what you’ve written?’ and that’s what happened to me and if it can happen to me it can happen to anybody.

This interview with David Sedaris is fantastic not just because he’s a brilliant wordsmith, but because he recited half of what he said here when I saw him at GSU last fall, which just makes me so happy because, well, he’s human.

Thank god.

