Awesome In-Flight Event:

An older man – Latin, perhaps late sixties & deeply tan with silvery curls spilling down his shoulders –  sat beside me right after boarding. He turned to me, & I smiled & wished him a good morning.

“Are you going to Albuquerque?”

“No,” I said, “I’m going to see a friend in Tucson.”

“You have to try the soup!” he said, & touched my arm for emphasis. “You must! It is delicious!” He unbuttoned the top three buttons of his pink & white striped shirt & slipped off his loafers, tucking them below his seat.

“The soup?” I asked.

“It is delicious.” He grinned widely, then pulled a small satin bag from his shirt pocket. From this he removed a small bottle, the contents of which he poured into his hands, then flicked into the air of the seat in front of him. Wiping his palms on the bag, he turned to me again before returning the bottle & its case to his breast pocket, smiled & said, “Delicious” once more, then coughed & went to sleep for the remainder of the flight.

